#Healdsburg

Recently I had a 24 hour trip to Healdsburg and boy was it fun! Never have I had so many activities packed into a weekend getaway. We traveled up to Healdsburg on a Saturday morning. The sun was shining for the first time in weeks which made me ever more excited. Our first stop was to check-in at Two Thirty-Five Luxury Suites. This is the perfect spot to stay!!! It is right in Healdsburg square, very central to everything. In fact, two of the tasting rooms we visited were practically right beneath it. The suites consisted of three rooms with a common living room and kitchen. Oh yeah, and each room had its own bathroom – SWEET! It was so nice to have this amazingly comfy bed to head home to after a long day of wine tasting. It isn’t every day that I get a king size bed all to myself!!! I’d highly recommend it for a weekend stay, especially if you are going with some gal pals or on a couple’s trip. We had a nice little impromptu photo shoot before we headed out on our adventure.

First up was Siduri Wines. Their tasting room was gorgeous! They had the windows wide open and the sun shining through! Adam Lee, Winemaker, was there not only to greet us but to join us for our tasting as well. He was incredibly personable and funny! I enjoyed laughing with him as we tasted their amazing wines. I have to say, they have wonderful selection of wines and their food list is great too! We were each given sampling of all their food options. We have fried chicken, sliders, mixed nuts, and more! It was a pretty amazing start to the beginning of the day!

FullSizeRender (11)FullSizeRender (8)IMG_1539IMG_1535

Our next stop was over at Banshee. This spot was extremely hip! I think we were all taken back at the awesome decor and staff. Their rosé there was delicious, I even brought a bottle home. (Fun fact: if you join their wine club you get a free shirt AND you are able to order their rose in the magnum size!) This was definitely the hippest spot and is located just off of the square. We had a blast here sipping on rosé and picking what records to listen to.

After Banshee we had a QUICK 30 min break. Megan (The Urbanite Insight) and I went to check out the Shed. What an adorable place. We stopped in quickly to grab a cup of coffee, take some pics, and to make our wish list of all the goods we want to get!

IMG_1595

Our third wine tasting adventure of the day was at La Crema. I personally thought this was the most educational! We had a “Wine 101” class that taught us the ins and outs of the wine world. The biggest lesson I learned was all about the diurnal shift. This is a term that refers to the variation from highest to lowest temperature during the day. We learned how this affects what wine grows where and why. I definitely learned a lot in this visit! Also, we were able to try some delicious local cheeses. You all know I LOVE cheese. They have a stunning private room that I highly recommend for a tasting.

IMG_1610IMG_1601FullSizeRender (10)FullSizeRender (13)

After this full day I was feeling ready for a nap, but we headed back to our rooms for girl talk while freshening up for dinner. Our dinner reservation was at Valette. This was just across the square from our hotel. I hadn’t ever been before, but had heard amazing things. The lighting was perfect when we got there so we did a quick photo sesh – so fun – and then headed into the restaurant. We decided to give the five-four “trust me” dinner a shot. The chef, Dustin Valette, surprised us course of course with amazingly tasty dishes. Of course, we shared each dish which was my favorite part! I always love sharing plates because I get to try even more. I dessert was incredible, but I think my favorite was the Hawaiian Ahi Poke Style. I am such a sucker for Hawaiian Poke.  After stuffing my belly full of phenomenal food it was time to head home. We had and early start the next day with brunch and a visit to Reeve Winery!

The next day came early…. I slept SO cozy in the bed at Two Thirty-Five Luxury Suites. I cannot tell you how amazing their beds are, so nice and fluffy. But my alarm went off and I had to be ready to rock at 9am. Our first stop was The Parish Cafe. We nom’d hard on French Toast, Eggs Benedict, Beignets, and other delicious goodies. It was the perfect start to the last day! Also, if you stay at 235 Luxury Suites it is within walking distance – woo!

Brunch concluded and we hustled on over to Reeve Wines. When we first drove up I was in awe of how gorgeous this place was! They had a private outdoor tasting set up for us with winemaker, Noah Dorrance. He is a complete doll. So knowledgeable of the industry and is very easy to talk to. We tasted our way through several different wines. All were overwhelmingly delicious.  We had a special treat after that – touring the estate house! All I have to say is HOLY CRAP. This is easily the most beautiful house I have ever seen. You can rent it too if you want!  I’m sure you clicked the link above, and I am sure you saw how damn beautiful that property is. You can clearly see why I probably took a thousand photos there. I didn’t want to leave! We hopped in the back of the truck and rode back down the hill to wrap up our tasting.

I was so sad to end this magical experience in Healdsburg. Emily Martin Events did a fabulous job putting together this impeccable itinerary. Our group was so lucky to be able to experience all these amazing wineries and restaurants. IMG_3164My aunt and uncle were actually up there a couple weekends after and I had them check out our spots! I’ve decided it’s a new goal of mine to travel up to wine country more. I mean, it’s only about an hour and a half away.

That’s all for now. I’ll be back soon with another post. xx

Cheers!

Mak

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

