#CIACopia

I feel like lately  it’s been pretty clear on my Insta that I have a growing obsession with wine. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always been a wine-girl, but more recently I have been more adventurous about really embracing the wine tasting experience and trying new things. I was SUPER excited to have received an invite to the California Institute of America at Copia’s grand opening in Napa! This place is beautifully designed for exploring and experiencing food and wine. If this doesn’t have my name written all over it, I’m not sure what does…

CIA at Copia exterior credit Phil Mansfield 2

The BF and I headed up to Napa early Saturday morning, which kinda sucked due to all the flooding, but were amazed when we got there. The CIA Copia is a beautiful space. The building itself from top to bottom and inside to out is fascinating. Even before entering the building it’s impressive. In front of the building are charming gardens. (Fun fact: the gardens provide different herbs for the restaurant). I obviously made the BF stop and take pics of me out there (sorry not sorry, babe). It was too perfect. Once we walked inside I was taken away by all the natural lighting and wide open space. Such a stunning event space.

IMG_201116864490_10208712844713620_5318614653715172407_nAtriumParty_CIAatCopia_VictorMSamuel

The main reception area was filled with different wine vendors for tastings. We had such a blast walking around to different wineries to experience what they had to offer. There was even a photo booth, which was tons of fun! It was nice to have a chance to explore around a bit before we attended a live cooking demo. We were Class with Amanda Freitag 3 Copia photo credit John Barkleylearning to make cheese – burrata and mozzarella! The demo room was great because it is set up as theater style seating with an open kitchen down in the front. There are big TV screens around the room so you can see up-close what the chef is doing. There are many different interactive cooking demonstrations. If you’re interested in checking one out take a peek at their website.

After the demo we headed into their private room for a cheese and wine pairing. This part was fun as I was able to reconnect with old blogger friends, as well as have the opportunity to meet new bloggers – and OBVI enjoy some amazing cheeses and wines. My favorite wine throughout the day was a Pinot by Lola. The strawberry aromas and hints of vanilla made it stand out.

The whole day was a great experience filled with tons of friendly faces, wine, and cheese. I would highly recommend the next time you’re in Napa to check this place out, even if it’s IMG_2027just to walk around. Check back at the blog to hear about the rest of my weekend in Wine Country.

Cheers!

Mak

Leave a Reply

